Inspiration Awards

The Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care annually recognizes the outstanding achievements of our school-based health care constituents. Winners are selected by a committee of the CASBHC Board of Directors.

Nominations are being accepted for the 2014 Inspiration Awards. Winners will be announced at a reception during the 2014 annual conference.

Inspiration Award Nomination Guidelines

2014 Inspiration Award Nomination Form

The 2013 winners were announced on May 2, 2013 at the annual CASBHC conference. Click to view a list of last year's winners.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nina McNeill, PNP
Adams City Middle School SBHC

"Nina has taught me about excellent school-based health care and about what a powerful and transformative place a school-based health center can be for a child, family, school and community. Nina is my healthcare hero!" -- Sarah Winbourn, MD


Nina McNeill

Outstanding  Medical Provider

Julie MW Zavala, DNP, CPNP
Crawford and Laredo Elementary Kids' Clinics

"Julie's commitment to quality, comprehensive health care and collaboration with Aurora Public Schools health staff enabled Crawford and Laredo to earn the distinction of being the first certified patient centered medical home school-based health clinics in the state." -- Anne Taylor


Julie MW Zavala

School-Based Health Center Champion

Representative Cheri Gerou
Colorado State House of Representatives

A champion for children's health care. During the 2012 legislative session, Rep. Gerou cast a vote blocking a proposed cut to the school-based health center grant program line item. This year she went a step further, publicly supporting an increase in funding for schoolbased health centers, citing SBHCs as a way we"take care of kids in Colorado." Rep. Gerou was instrumental in securing the $4.2 million line-item increase.


Representative Cheri Gerou


Enter your e-mail address to join our mailing list